The mom war rages on.

I’ve said it before and I will say it again – I don’t care what you feed your kid as long as you’re feeding them. And as long as it isn’t you know, gasoline.

But with that said I’m a huge supporter of breastfeeding and extended breastfeeding and I’m in what I hope is the last stretch of my own extended breastfeeding experience.

The TIME magazine cover was one thing. I was initially excited to see extended breastfeeding getting positive publicity – my initial excitement quickly went out the door when I read the “are you mom enough” text (or garbage. whatever) on the cover.  Watching the inevitable Mom War that followed makes me sick.

And now there’s this:

Image

A beautiful photo of two military breast feeding mommas that went viral. Bring on the outrage. Again.

My favorite comment thus far:  “My fiance and my brother are in the military and nothing is worse than seeing someone disrespect the uniform,” wrote one.

Really?! I can think of a million other things that “disrespect” the uniform and loving your child just doesn’t seem to fit in that category AT ALL. I hope you don’t plan on breastfeeding your future children with your fiance and gasp, breastfeeding them near him when he’s in uniform. I nursed my daughter in what I wore to work every day. I guess I was disrespecting social work. Or are these babies just supposed to wait until Mom can strip out of all of that stuff to eat? Use some common sense.

What in the world do all of you anti-breastfeeding people think we fed babies with before formula? Which was actually evaporated milk until the 70’s!  If you couldn’t lactate – you hired a wet nurse who could!

I am so tired of seeing women get attacked for choosing to breastfeed their babies. I want articles with outrage about the mom who didn’t even try to nurse her baby and went straight to formula instead. Let’s at least make this a fair war.

Women have got to stop attacking each other and their parenting choices. It’s one step forward and two steps back every time.  We are so concerned about our older children being bullied in school – yet we as adults are bullying each other. It’s time to grow up and show some respect ladies. You may find yourself on the negative side of the fight one of these days and I doubt it’s a nice place to be.

Tagged , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “The mom war rages on.

  1. Wow, it’s shocking that people could have a problem with military moms nursing in uniform. I think the photo is beautifully patriotic, and only gives positive messages.

  2. Melanie @ Thinking Thin Loving Food says:

    BRAVO! BRAVO! 🙂 All of this is just so not that serious.

  3. People need to find something else to complain about! I think this is such a beautiful picture and if anything I think it brings honor to the uniform. What higher honor is there than doing everything in your power to do what is best for your children?

Leave a Reply

