The kitten conundrum.

Anyone who knows me knows that I am a sucker for animals. Every cat I’ve ever had started out as a stray. Well, with the exception of Roxy. She was a stray who made it to the SPCA and then I adopted her.

Another one has found me. We have several squirrels that live in our neighborhood and hang out in our front yard every day. I came home for lunch last week and thought one of them was laying by one of the trees. By the time I made it up the stairs to the front door, this “squirrel” had beat me to it. Said squirrel was actually a kitten. A really strange looking kitten. I told it to hang on and I would bring it some food. It ran in the house.

And in the house it stayed. Sam is very adamant about no more pets. I get it. When he came home, he was less than pleased to see the cat.

Roxy – the resident cat – is weird. When I adopted her, her card said she and her siblings were brought to the SPCA at around 3 to 4 weeks old and that the mother had died. They were immediately put on food and not bottle fed. When we got her, she was estimated to be 6 to 8 weeks old. She was very friendly for the first couple of months but now she’s turned into what I lovingly refer to as “strange” cat. She does not like to have her litter box cleaned, she does not like affection. She prefers Sam and is more affectionate with him but even that is limited.

Stray kitten is the total opposite. She loves to be loved. She follows me around like a puppy and has even managed to crawl up my leg to ride around on my shoulder when walking. The first day Roxy wanted nothing to do with her. By day 2 Roxy was captivated. She does not let stray kitten out of her sight. They lay near each other, purring. She follows her through the house with a strange look. When stray kitten plays, Roxy gets excited. I still separate them during feedings and if we aren’t home but they have free range together now and we haven’t had any fights.

Maybe Roxy needed a cat friend. Penny loves Roxy but I don’t think it’s the same.

I had been watching online for lost cat posts because I doubt she’s feral since she is so friendly. We do have a feral family in the alley with 3 kittens and she is around the same size so I suppose it is possible that she decided people weren’t half bad.

Poor girl will eat anything. ANYTHING. Coffee grounds? Yum. Dog food – excellent! Juice? Yay. Yogurt – more, more, more! Roxy has never acted interested in people food, nor have cats in my past. This is a whole new ball game for me!

I’m hopeful after she realizes that cat food comes regularly and in large quantities that she will stop scrounging around for food.

She likes to be held and rocked like a baby.

Sam and I haven’t discussed keeping her since she showed up Thursday and he said no. I think now he’s warming up to the idea as I’ve seen him loving on her occasionally (when he thinks we are not looking…)

I don’t want to be a cat lady, but I’m pretty sure this girl adopted me.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

