It will be a good day.

My facebook status this morning – except I typed it three times for good measure.

And then I saw that it was National Positive Thinking day.

We woke up at 5 this morning to beautiful loud thunder. The whole house was up. It eventually started raining to which my little weather girl does not venture far from a window or sitting outside on the deck. We finally fell back asleep which led to a nightmare and oversleeping. Oops.

I had a dream that Katelyn died. It was horrible.

I’ve prayed so much that I would dream about Penny. And instead I’m dreaming about my human baby dying. I woke up and kissed her sweaty sleeping forehead.

I’ve got to get out of this. We have so much to be thankful for. We’ve grown up so much the past 5 years. We’ve become responsible adults.

Life is good.

Even on the bad days. Even on the sad days. Life is good.

We are a family (minus one.) And although my heart hurts, I know Penny was loved immensely. And she loved immensely in return.

Some day the aching will be less noticeable. Some day I will be able to look at pictures and smile without tears. Some day we will open our hearts and home to another dog who needs love. Some day I will see my girl again.

And until that day, life is good. I am okay. I am strong. I will be better.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

